A poem a day begins

It is NaPoWriMo . . . I believe that is short for National Poetry Writing Month, though really it is just National Poetry Month.  So if you don’t want to write a poem a day, maybe write one poem or read a poem (a day would be nice), and definitely buy a book of poems.  Not one of those anthology greeting card poems or pithy lines, but a book from the poetry section.   You can look on my main site for some books I’ve read recently or check  out Annotation Nation Poetry for poetry books that have influenced other poets.

Yesterday I did the prompt and wrote a little triolet (loved finding a new form I never heard of) about the beautiful Puerto Rican Bomba I attended at midnight in Berkley, California, thanks to the invite from the breathtakingly talented Sandra Garcia Rivera.   I am honored to be surrounded by such fabulous artists in my life.

But I digress.  My little triolet was my first poem and I like it.  It has potential.  Last year a series about Buffy the Vampire Slayer emerged and after sharing the poem, I realize that it may continue as I did use some slayer imagery in this triolet.

I won’t necessarily be posting my poems here because that is not what this blog is about, but I encourage you to visit the NaPoWriMo site to try a poem on your own.   I also check out sites like Verse Daily, Poetry Foundation, and Poets.org to read a poem a day.   I will likely post reflections of my efforts to write a poem a day.  Little teasers for poems to come.

3 thoughts on “A poem a day begins

Leave a Reply

